Why I found Ajmer beautiful?

I had two options: (a) choose the familiar surroundings (b) check out the uncharted territory and I chose the road less travelled.

I want to become a school teacher and B.Ed was the last degree I needed and by sheer luck and God’s grace, I made it to both The EFL University, Hyderabad and The Regional Institute of Education, Ajmer and as I had mentioned earlier, I chose Ajmer. Ones who have read my previous blogs will know that I did my MA in Hyderabad.

Ajmer was not just a place for me; It was a pandora box of a new culture and history and where there is exploration involved, I am drawn to it like a moth to the flame. So, I submitted the docs, packed my bags and moved to Ajmer for a new adventure. So what do I think about Ajmer?

Surrounded by Aravalli Ranges

What is the first stereotype that comes to your mind when you hear the word – Rajasthan? Obviously, ‘the land of the desert’as that’s how we have been taught about the said state. However, when I entered the region, I was shell-shocked to find that it was actually nestled between Aravalli ranges! To be honest, I got the feeling of being in the hotter version of Mussoorie or Nainital and this had me super intrigued.

A mix of both the worlds

I love a place which is a mix of new and the old world; a place where I can go to a bar for a drink and also sit in the ruins of some fort and let my thoughts wander freely. Ajmer has glitzy malls but also bears the mark of Rajasthan’s rich heritage. It not only has the charm of the Old Delhi streets (cleaner version) but also the glamour of quaint little cafes tucked into the corners of city.

Less pollution

Coming from Delhi, this was definitely a welcome change. My lungs might have shed tears of joy.

Considerable Jain population

Now this is JUST an observation and has no intention of hurting any religious sentiments. Ajmer is well known for the Ajmer Dargah Shareef which draws crowd from all over the world from different religions so I had thought that I would find Muslim population to be dominant. But surprise! There were several breath-takingly beautiful Jain Temples which meant there was a considerable Jain population residing in the city.

Ajmer is a quaint, small district and while you explore the big guns of Rajasthan such as Jaipur, don’t forget this charming district. It’s definitely worth a visit.

img_20190825_170356

PC: @senwarjiofficial

If you want to know what I do more, then follow me on Instagram @ https://www.instagram.com/the_malelhi_girl/?hl=en

2 responses to “Why I found Ajmer beautiful?”

  1. Would love to listen more about Ajmer Isha

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sure! Stay tuned for the upcoming posts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started